JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — Colonel Eric T. Olson, superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, announces that 29 troopers will graduate from the Patrol’s Law Enforcement Academy on Friday, July 23, 2021. The ceremony will take place on the South Lawn of the Missouri State Capitol.

The graduation ceremony will begin at 9 a.m. The 111th Recruit Class reported to the Academy on February 1, 2021, to begin the 25-week training to become a trooper. The new troopers will report to duty in their assigned troops on August 9, 2021.

Three Joplin Metro recruits will graduate to become Troopers, their hometown is included:
• Levi H. Crowe of Carthage, Mo.
• Samuel J. Hallam of Joplin, Mo.
• Joshua T. Martin of Sarcoxie, Mo.

According to a media release from MSHP, “Four class awards will be presented. The recruits accumulate points toward graduation in the categories of physical fitness, firearms, and academics throughout their 25 weeks at the Academy. The person with the highest number of points in each category earns the respective award. Award categories include physical fitness, Zachary T. Chastain (Crane, MO), firearms, Derek Peters (Sedalia, MO), academics, Aaron K. Booker (Blue Springs, MO), and the Superintendent’s Award, Eric J. Smith (Hannibal, MO), which is presented to the person with the most points overall.

The graduation ceremony was broadcast on the Missouri State Highway Patrol YouTube channel. Joplin News First shared it live! with our viewers on FB.

LIVE! GRADUATION: Recruits from Joplin, Sarcoxie and Carthage are among the 111th graduating class Missouri State Highway Patrol Law Enforcement Academy >>

LIVE! GRADUATION: Recruits from Joplin, Sarcoxie and Carthage are among the 111th graduating class Missouri State Highway Patrol Law Enforcement Academy >>

Posted by Joplin News First on Friday, July 23, 2021

The names, hometowns and first assignments of members of the 111th Recruit Class:

Troop A
Aaron K. Booker (Blue Springs, MO), Zone 7, Jackson County
Devan J. Harms (Kansas City, MO), Zone 12, Johnson County
Colten B. Henderson (Spokane, MO), Zone 14, Bates County
Nathaniel J. Medrano (Independence, MO), Zone 12, Johnson County
Derek Peters (Sedalia, MO), Zone 10, Saline County
Ryan K. Stearns (Marshall, MO), Zone 3, Clay County

Troop B
Levi H. Crowe (Carthage, MO
Eric J. Smith (Hannibal, MO), Zone 7, Lewis/Knox Counties
Elijah N. Stinson (Poplar Bluff, MO), Zone 3, Linn/Chariton Counties

Troop C
Cyle C. Battreal (Pomona, MO), Zone 16, Ste. Genevieve/Perry Counties
Dylan H. Bert (Cypress, TX), Zone 8, St. Charles County
Almedin Birdzo (St. Louis, MO), Zone 5, Pike/Lincoln Counties
Collin P. Brown (Ballwin, MO), Zone 11, Franklin County
Zachary T. Chastain (Crane, MO), Zone 10, Franklin County
Raymond M. Dressler (St. Louis, MO), Zone 7, Warren County
Christopher A. Gates (St. Ann, MO), Zone 1, N. St. Louis County
Kaleig A. Mitchell (Overland Park, KS), Zone 5, Pike/Lincoln Counties
Matthew Smith (Ballwin, MO), Zone 4, S. St. Louis County
Jeffrey J. Wilt (Shelbina, MO), Zone 14, St. Francois/Washington Counties

Troop D
Levi H. Crowe (Carthage, MO), Zone 3, Polk County
Joshua T. Martin (Sarcoxie, MO), Zone 13, Newton/McDonald Counties

Troop E
James E. Williams (Charleston, MO), Zone 6, Scott/Mississippi/New Madrid Counties
David L. McKnight (Sikeston, MO), Zone 7, Scott/Mississippi/New Madrid Counties
Roberto C. Rodriguez Penaflor (Senath, MO), Zone 11, Stoddard County

Troop F
Samuel L. Ponder (New Bloomfield, MO), Zone 3, Boone County

Troop G
Kenneth H. Hall (Ellsinore, MO), Zone 8, Carter/Reynolds Counties

Troop H
Molly H. Gach (St. Joseph, MO), Zone 6, Buchanan/Andrew Counties

Troop I
Troyjacob E. Ebeling (Rolla, MO), Zone 9, Crawford County
Samuel J. Hallam (Joplin, MO), Zone 8, Laclede County