FEMA adds Newton and McDonald Counties for federal disaster individual assistance



A FEMA disaster recovery center will open for three days in Newton County starting Monday, August 19, to provide one-on-one assistance to Missouri residents affected by spring flooding, severe storms and tornadoes.

Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Small Business Administration will provide information on available services, explain assistance programs and help survivors complete or check the status of their applications.

The disaster recovery center location is at the Lampo Center, which is located at 500 E. Spring Street in Neosho.

Monday, Aug. 19 – 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 20 – 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 21 – 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Residents from any county may visit any recovery center. Before visiting a recovery center, residents are asked to register online at DisasterAssistance.gov or call the disaster assistance helpline: 800-621-FEMA (3362), voice/vp/711 or 800-462-7585 (TTY). Lines are open daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Disaster recovery centers are equipped with video remote interpreting and assistive listening devices. If you need an in-person American Sign Language (ASL) interpreter, just ask!

Individuals have until Monday, Sept. 9 to register for federal disaster assistance and complete an SBA loan application for physical property damage. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. The filing deadline for businesses to submit loan applications for economic injury is April 9, 2020.

Follow recovery updates in Missouri on Twitter @MOSEMA_ and @FEMARegion7. Get the latest information at Missouri’s recovery website and FEMA’s disaster webpage.

For information on applying for an SBA loan, call 800-659-2955 or email SBA’s disaster customer service. If you are deaf or hard-of-hearing, call text relay at 800-877-8339.

SOUTHWEST MISSOURI – FEMA adds two more counties in Southwest Missouri for federal disaster individual assistance.

Newton and McDonald Counties are now approved for the individual assistance program.

FEMA approved the State of Missouri’s request to expand the federal major disaster declaration to include those counties, as well as four others in the state. People living in those two areas, who were affected by flooding and severe storms from April 29th to July 5th, are now eligible to apply for federal assistance.

The program assists with temporary housing, housing repairs, and the replacement of household items.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories