Oklahoma Governor Declares State of Emergency for 77 Counties

By Priscilla Mace

Published 05/05 2014 06:17PM

Updated 05/05 2014 06:45PM

OKLAHOMA--- Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin declares a state of emergency for all 77 counties because of wildfire. The governor has also issued an executive proclamation, declaring a burn ban for 36 counties. So far, one person has been killed and six homes have been destroyed in wildfires since late yesterday afternoon. 

Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and aqcquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resource to local jurisdictions. Only half of the State of Oklahoma is under the burn ban, and it does not include Oklahoma counties in our area. The governor is asking all Oklahomans to be vigilant and careful and do their part to prevent fires. 

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.